Best British Made Reed Diffusers UK: Handmade Brands Compared on Cost per Month and Lifespan
The best British made reed diffusers come from brands that name their workshop and put a UK address on the safety label. We compared ten UK made or UK based reed diffusers on where they are made, how long they last and what they cost per month. Our pick is IVNA London, handmade in England at about £15.70 a month. Pairfum London costs least per month, St Eval is made in Cornwall and Wild Planet Aromatherapy has an organic base. See our reed diffusers handmade in England.
One thing first, so you know where we stand: we make IVNA London, so we have a stake in this, and our reed diffuser is in the table and marked in bold. We judged it on the same numbers as the rest, and we tell you plainly where it falls short so you can make up your own mind.
Quick picks
- Best for a known maker and workshop: IVNA London is handmade in England by skilled candle makers in the Essex countryside, and costs £58 for 200ml.
- Best for low cost per month: Pairfum London is handmade in the UK, the brand says, and it works out at about £6.20 a month.
- Best Cornish maker: St Eval is made on a farm in North Cornwall and costs about £14 a month to run.
- Best organic base: Wild Planet Aromatherapy is made in a Kent workshop, but it costs more per month than most of the others here.
- Best big bottle from a London brand: Earl of East comes in a 200ml bottle and works out at about £8 a month.
- Best high street name with a UK factory: Neal's Yard Remedies comes to about £10 a month, and you can find it on many high streets.
If you want a reed diffuser with a clear maker and a clear cost, start with our mandarin, bergamot and vetiver reed diffuser. To scent a whole home in one go, see our Home Sets, where you can mix any three or five scents.
Why does made in the UK matter?
"Made in the UK" does not promise quality on its own, but it does tell you a few useful things about the bottle on your shelf.
- A shorter supply chain: a reed diffuser made here travels fewer miles to reach you, and there are fewer hands between the maker and your shelf.
- UK safety labels: reed diffuser oil sold in Great Britain must carry a CLP label if it is hazardous, and that label warns you about the liquid and names the supplier.
- You know who made it: a small UK maker can tell you where the workshop is, and you can ask them a question and get a real answer from a real person.
- UK makers keep their trade: your money stays with UK firms and with the UK suppliers they buy from.
What UK making does not tell you is how strong the scent is or how long it lasts, and that is why we also compare lifespan and cost per month. For more on natural bases, read our guide to the best natural reed diffusers in the UK. If you care most about packaging and refills, see the best eco friendly reed diffusers as well.
How do you check a "made in UK" claim?
Some brands are British but make their products abroad, and others are honest but vague, so here is how to tell the difference for yourself.
- Read the words closely: "Designed in London" or "a British brand" is not the same as "handmade in England", because only "made in" tells you where the product was made.
- Find the address on the CLP label: the label must give the name, address and phone number of the supplier, which is the firm that answers for the product in the UK. It is not always the maker, but if a brand says it makes its own reed diffusers, the address should make sense with that.
- Look for a place, not a mood: a real maker names a town or a workshop, while a phrase like "Crafted with British spirit" names nothing at all.
- Check each product: a brand can pour candles in London and buy in reed diffusers from elsewhere, so the claim on one product may not cover the rest of the range.
- Ask: a UK maker should be able to tell you where the bottle was filled, and if they cannot, treat the claim with care.
A false origin claim can break UK consumer law, but even so, the checks above take two minutes and will save you from paying extra for a label that means very little.
How do British made reed diffusers compare?
The table is sorted from the lowest to the highest cost per month, and cost per month is the price divided by the number of months it lasts. In the lifespan column, brand means the brand's own claim, and guides means the middle of the range that UK guides give. Estimate means our own figure of about seven weeks per 100ml in a heated room.
| Reed diffuser | Where it is made | Size and price | Lifespan | Cost per month | Refill sold? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pairfum London Cube | Handmade in the UK (brand claim) | 100ml, about £25 | 3 to 5 months (brand) | about £6.20 | Check brand site |
| Earl of East | London brand. Candles poured in East London. Check where reed diffusers are made | 200ml, about £36 | 4 to 5 months (guides) | £8 | Check brand site |
| Neal's Yard Remedies | UK brand with a factory in Dorset. Check the label | Size not stated, from about £28 | Up to 12 weeks (brand) | about £10 | Yes, recycled plastic |
| Aery Living | UK brand. Check where each product is made | 200ml, about £39 | Up to 16 weeks (brand) | £10.60 | Yes |
| Botanical Candle Co | Made in its Dorset workshop (brand claim) | 100ml, about £18.95 | About 7 weeks (estimate) | £11.80 | Check brand site |
| St Eval | Made on its farm in North Cornwall (brand claim) | 150ml, about £34 | About 10 weeks (estimate) | £14 | Check brand site |
| IVNA London (our brand) | Handmade in England, in the Essex countryside | 200ml, £58 | Up to 24 weeks, avg 16 (brand) | £15.70 | Yes, £42 |
| Join Hedgerow | Handcrafted in its Cornish studio (brand claim) | 98ml, about £33 | About 7 weeks (estimate) | £20.50 | Check brand site |
| Harrogate Organics | UK brand, check where it is made | Size not stated, about £32 | 4 to 6 weeks (brand) | about £28 | No |
| Wild Planet Aromatherapy | Workshop in the Kent countryside (brand claim) | Size not stated, about £28 | At least 4 weeks (brand) | up to about £30 | Yes |
Prices come from recent UK guides, and we did not test these reed diffusers in a lab, so what you see here is a set of published figures that we gathered together. Heat and draughts can halve any lifespan, so check the notes below before you decide.
The brands, one by one
IVNA London (about £15.70 a month)
Our reed diffusers are handmade in England by skilled candle makers in the Essex countryside.
Each reed diffuser is made from organic natural ingredients, with a plant based reed diffuser base and vegan. There are four scents to choose from, each named after a corner of London, and for a living room, try the vanilla, tonka and cedarwood reed diffuser. For a kitchen, where you want something fresh and clean, try the mandarin, bergamot and vetiver reed diffuser. A 200ml bottle is £58, gift boxed.
Where we fall short: we only make a 200ml bottle, so a large or open plan room will need two of them. A bottle lasts up to 24 weeks, but around 16 weeks is an average, and near a radiator you should expect a bottle to run dry sooner. A refill with a fresh set of fibre reeds is £42, or about £11.40 a month.
Handmade and gift wrapped in the UK (about £6.20 a month)
Pairfum says its reed diffusers are handmade and gift wrapped by artisans in the UK. The Cube is about £25 for 100ml, and the brand says it lasts three to five months, which gives it the lowest monthly cost here. Watch out for: the three to five months is a brand claim, so in a warm room you should plan for less.
A London studio brand (about £8 a month)
Earl of East. This is a London brand, and its site says its candles are hand poured in its East London studio, but we could not find the same claim for its reed diffusers. It costs about £36 for 200ml, and guides say it lasts four to five months. Watch out for: "London brand" is not the same as "made in London", so check the reed diffuser's own label before you buy.
Made in Dorset with organic oils (about £10 a month)
Neal's Yard Remedies. This UK brand has run a factory near Gillingham in Dorset since 2005. Its reed diffusers use organic essential oils in organic alcohol, and prices start from about £28. The brand says a bottle lasts up to 12 weeks, and refills come in recycled plastic. Watch out for: alcohol bases can project hard at first and then fade, so check the label to see where your reed diffuser was made.
A big bottle with refills (about £10.60 a month)
Aery Living. This UK brand charges about £39 for 200ml, and the brand says a bottle lasts up to 16 weeks. It sells refills, uses plastic free packaging and plants a tree per order, and one product page we read said "handmade in England". Watch out for: we could not confirm that for the whole range, so check the product you buy.
A Dorset workshop (about £11.80 a month)
Botanical Candle Co. The brand says it makes its products in its Dorset workshop, and at about £18.95 for 100ml, it is the cheapest bottle here. Watch out for: it does not publish a lifespan, so the figure we use is our own estimate of about seven weeks.
Made on a Cornish farm (about £14 a month)
St Eval makes its candles and home fragrance on a farm in North Cornwall, its site says, and scents such as Orange Blossom and Bay & Rosemary are about £34 for 150ml. Watch out for: no lifespan is published, so the figure of about ten weeks is our own estimate.
A Cornish studio (about £20.50 a month)
Join says it handcrafts its reed diffusers in its Cornish studio, so the London in its shop name is not where they are made, and Hedgerow is about £33 for 98ml. Watch out for: a small bottle with no published lifespan makes the monthly cost high.
Pure essential oils (about £28 a month)
Harrogate Organics. This UK brand uses pure essential oils, costs about £32, and says its reed diffusers last four to six weeks. Watch out for: we could not find where the reed diffusers are made, and no refills are sold, so each new bottle costs you the full price again.
A Kent family workshop (up to about £30 a month)
Wild Planet Aromatherapy. This family business has made home fragrance in a Kent workshop since 2010. It uses an organic grain alcohol base certified by the Soil Association, and it is a member of 1% for the Planet. It costs about £28, and the brand says a bottle lasts at least four weeks. Watch out for: "at least four weeks" is the only figure, so the monthly cost could be far lower or near £30.
Which one suits you
- You want to know exactly who made it: pick a brand that names a county and a workshop, as IVNA London, St Eval, Wild Planet and Join all do.
- You want the lowest cost per month: go for Pairfum first, then Earl of East, based on the figures in our table.
- You want the most natural base: choose Wild Planet or Neal's Yard, but expect a shorter, lighter throw than you would get from other bases.
- You are buying a present: see our guide to British made reed diffuser gifts for more ideas.
- You are scenting a whole home: compare the best reed diffuser sets in the UK to find one that covers every room you need.
How do you get the most from a handmade in England reed diffuser?
These simple steps will help any reed diffuser last longer, wherever it was made and whatever you paid for it.
- Keep it away from heat: a radiator or a sunny windowsill can halve its life, and keeping it a metre away makes a real difference.
- Give it a day or two: a new reed diffuser takes about 24 to 36 hours to reach full strength, so wait before you add more fibre reeds.
- Match fibre reeds to the room: use three to five in a small bathroom, five to seven in a bedroom and eight or more in a living room. Every extra fibre reed empties the bottle faster, and our room size guide has more on getting the count right.
- Flip once a week at most: flipping gives the scent a boost, but it also uses the oil up faster.
- Protect your furniture: oil can mark wood, so stand the bottle on a coaster or a tray.
- Keep it out of reach: pets and children can knock it over or lick the oil, and cats are sensitive to many essential oils. Read are reed diffusers safe for cats and dogs before you place one in a home with pets.
You can read more on this in our guide to how long reed diffusers last and in our reed diffuser FAQs.
Quick answers
Which reed diffusers are made in the UK?
Six of the brands we compared say they make in the UK: IVNA London, St Eval, Wild Planet, Join, Botanical Candle Co and Pairfum. Neal's Yard has a factory in Dorset, and for the others, check the label and ask the brand where the bottle was filled.
How can I tell if a reed diffuser is really handmade in England?
Look for the words "made in", not "designed in", and then check the supplier's address on the CLP label. A real maker will also name a town or county, and should be happy to tell you more if you ask.
Are handmade reed diffusers better?
Not always, because handmade tells you how it was made and not how strong it is, so compare the lifespan and the cost per month too.
Who makes IVNA London reed diffusers?
Our reed diffusers are handmade in England by skilled candle makers in the Essex countryside.
How long does a 100ml reed diffuser last?
Most last six to twelve weeks in a heated UK room. Our IVNA London reed diffusers come in a 200ml bottle, which lasts up to 24 weeks, around 16 weeks on average.
Try a reed diffuser handmade in England
Each IVNA London page lists the top, heart and base notes, along with the rooms that the scent suits best. For a bright kitchen or hallway, try our mandarin, bergamot and vetiver reed diffuser. For a bathroom or bedroom, where a green herbal scent works well, try the lemongrass, pine and cedar reed diffuser. You can also plan a whole home with our Home Sets, mixing any three or five scents. For the wider market, read our guide to the best reed diffusers for UK homes, which compares more brands.
New to IVNA London? Every scent we make comes as a reed diffuser and a matching luxury scented candle, both handmade in England.
Related guides
- Best Natural Reed Diffusers UK
- Best Eco Friendly Reed Diffusers UK
- British Made Reed Diffuser Gifts
- Best Reed Diffuser Sets UK
Pairfum London, Earl of East, Neal's Yard Remedies, Aery Living, Botanical Candle Co and St Eval are trade marks of their owners. So are Join, Harrogate Organics, Wild Planet Aromatherapy, Soil Association and 1% for the Planet, and IVNA London is not linked to any of them. Prices and lifespans were correct to the best of our knowledge at the time we wrote this guide, so please check each brand's own site before you buy.


